Books of Law

The first five books of the Old Testament are books of law. They contain the laws that God gave His people. Our Bible verses today tell us about the laws that God gave to Moses. The Jews call these five books the Torah. And some people today call these books the Pentateuch or the books of Moses.

These books contain many wonderful stories — the creation of the world, the flood, the freeing of the Israelites from slavery and the Israelites traveling to the land God promised them. Many familiar Bible characters are found in these books — Adam, Noah, Abraham, Jacob, Joseph and Moses.

I encourage you to read through these five Old Testament books. They will help you learn more about God and how much He loves you. Studying these books will also help you understand many things you read in the New Testament.

Thank God today for His Word. Allow Him to speak to you through the Bible.